Festival Finale

  • Festival Finale East Devon Music Festival
  • Festival Finale East Devon Music Festival
  • Festival Finale East Devon Music Festival

The final concert of the Festival was a celebration of Light Music on 30 June with Roger Hendy’s ‘new’ ISCA Light Orchestra, with Music Deco playing in The Beehive, Honiton.

Starting with Richard Rogers’ Slaughter on Tenth Avenue, Poulenc’s Andante con moto, featuring Andrew Daldorph, piano, and Puccini’s Quando m’en vo & Simi Chiamano Mimi, featuring soprano Kate Walker, it was time for Alfie Pugh’s World Premiere. Exeter based Alfie’s A Journey through a Feline Mind is a jazz suite in 4 movements for string orchestra & rhythm section, also featuring Chris Gradwell on tenor saxophone. Also, Alfie conducted this performance. The musical style can perhaps be summed up by the titles of the 4 movements: The Furry Critter; Mirage; A luxury yacht in Bermuda and On the Loose.

After the interval, the orchestra played Foxtrot Blues, Lyric Waltz, Tahiti Trot and Finale from Shostakovich’s Jazz Suites Nos.1 and 2. Gershwin’s Naughty Baby and Little Jazz Bird followed performed by Music Deco – Kate Walker, Andrew Daldorph and Chris Gradwell.

The concert finished with numbers by Leroy Anderson – Jazz Legato and Jazz Pizzicato, The Waltzing Cat, Buglers Holiday, Sand Paper Ballet (with Alfie Pugh on sandpaper) and Fiddle Faddle.

Click below to hear Leroy Anderson’s ‘Buglers Holiday’